Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Happy 3 Weeks Old!

4 Comments

Baby Bear, you are almost three weeks old!  I can’t believe it.  You’re perfect and I love you!  Three weekends ago I began pre-labor.  (Up until contractions are 10 minutes apart is considered “pre-labor”.)  I did not know that at the time.  I had contractions 45 minutes apart all Saturday.  I went to the gym, cleaned, and even went out to lunch.  The waitress was slightly alarmed by my groans.  By the close of Saturday, contractions were 20 minutes apart.  By the close of Sunday, they were 10 minutes apart.  So apparently, I did not start “real” labor until Sunday night.  Sometime Sunday night, the contractions stopped.  I did not even know that was possible.  In hindsight, I should have gone to bed and rested.  Alas, I was too excited to get the show on the road.  I began marching around the house to help induce labor.  By 2 or 3 am Monday morning, we headed to the birth center.  As soon as we got there, my husband and the midwife took a nap while I waded in a plastic, blown up hot tub.  I ate and drank herb tea to assist with contractions.  The tea tasted horrible, but I would have done anything the midwife asked.  Then, the fun began.  We tried every labor position possible.  Some of them the midwife and I argued about but I eventually gave in.  I actually found contractions on the toilet quite manageable.  From there, nothing went as planned.  My labor was long.  My water wouldn’t break.  Pushing lasted a very long time.  I was very tired at the end and my contractions started to weaken.  Baby Bear decided to poop on the way out.  He came out slightly off-center and he needed a little suction to clear his lungs.  I say all that just to say how perfect it all turned out and how perfect he is now.  I was never concerned or in pain.  We simply addressed every challenge with patience and persevered.  I am so glad we used a midwife and delivered at a birth center.  As soon as Baby Bear was placed on my chest around 5 pm Monday evening, all my energy returned.  We went home a few hours later.  Time for the next adventure!  Three weeks later the newest challenge: to passie or not passie?

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

4 thoughts on “Happy 3 Weeks Old!

  1. Congratulations! He is beautiful. We had no idea you were pregnant-how exciting! Hope you are feeling well and able to rest some. And pacis rock, just make sure that by 9-12 months or so they are only used at naptime/bedtime and you should be fine and not have a paci-addict. Take care!

  2. You were right about not forcing a Gilman. He took his sweet time coming out. You have such a beautiful baby.

  3. Great labor story! I loved my experience with a birth center and midwives and was looking forward to hearing about yours. I also love that you call him Baby Bear. Doesn’t get any cuter than that!

Your thoughts?

