Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Smother Love

Leave a comment

Smother love.  Not me!  It’s my dogs.  They are driving me crazy.  I have two chocolate labs.  They are brother and sister and from the same litter.  They aren’t little either.  The male is about 100 pounds and the female is about 90 pounds.  I think the male must be part Great Dane.  They have calmed down in their old age, but still.  Since I’ve been home with my little baby boy, going on seven weeks now, they have hovered around me like flies to honey.  They orbit my feet making me feel like I’m weighed down, claustrophobic.  I get that same feeling when my boots get caked with Carolina red clay when I’m working in the yard on a rainy weekend.  If I move from one end of the kitchen to the other, they follow.  If I go to bathroom, they bust open the door.  If I lay on the floor, they go crazy and roll over.  When I nurse, they lay on my feet and sniff the baby.  I’m already sleep-deprived and low in iron.  My dogs have put me over the edge.  It’s more than guarding.  They smother.  I’m the one who is suppose to be smothering!  I understand they were the babies and now there is a new baby in the house, but still.  Help.  Got to love labs.

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

Your thoughts?

