Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Back to Work Blues (Sniff, Sniff)

1 Comment

THIS SUCKS!  I’m going back to work after 8 weeks of maternity leave.  Grrr.  I don’t think my mental capacity is fully functioning.  Did that make sense?  I don’t know if I should be out in public.  My husband is acting like it’s the end of summer and he’s sending his child back to school.  Well, I do have that end of summer brain drain feeling.  My instinct is to hold my baby and stare at him all day.  Work sort of puts a crick in my plans.  I should say that my husband gave me a digital picture frame for my office and filled it with baby photos.  It’s my first Mother’s Day present.  I guess he’s trying to help ease the transition.  I heard that I should look at baby pictures while breast pumping at work.  Hmm.  Luckily, I have my own office and they put a lock on my door.  Otherwise, I’d have to make a sign that says “Breast pumping” as opposed to “In a meeting” or “Conference call”.  Maybe I’ll make a sign just to see what happens.  Maybe a picture sign would be better.  I can make all those male attorneys squirm.  Ha!  I just Googled breastfeeding signs and there is an official international breastfeeding symbol!  Love it!  This might make returning to work bearable.  Hmm.

http://www.breastfeedingsymbol.org

Next topic: Do smiles mean spit up?

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

One thought on “Back to Work Blues (Sniff, Sniff)

  1. I know you are sad… I love the sign!! ha! You should totally do that 🙂 See you SOON!

Your thoughts?

