Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

How To Make Your Own Cleaning Products

2 Comments

I’m the opposite of a germaphobe.  Growing up in a deli desensitized me from all things icky.  As a little girl, I was called upon to shimmy under tables and behind grills (that were turned off) to clean those hard-to-reach places.  My skinny arms were perfect for unplugging drains and any tight spot that hid old food.  The ew-factor held no sway for my dad.  It was a good joke to stick me in the large trash cans.  Instead of regular camp, I attended Dad’s Deli Camp!  I loved it.  So what if I needed a milk crate to reach the counter?  Those memorable experiences toughened me against all things germy but also made me crazy about cleaning.  Image.  So, the challenge of making my own cleaning products is not really pushing me out of my comfort zone.  Making my own cleaning products is therapy.  Here are some of Aunt Karen’s recipes that I can’t wait to try.
                                  HOMEMADE CLEANING PRODUCTS:
Dishwasher Soap: 1 load:  1 T (Tablespoon) Super Washing soda + 1 T Borax
Glass Cleaner:  1/4 c white vinegar in 24 oz spray bottle fill with water
Another Glass Cleaner:  1/4c white vinegar + 1/4 c isopropyl rubbing  alcohol
All Purpose Cleaner:   1/4c white vinegar + 2 T baking soda + water to fill a 24 oz spray bottle
Heavy Duty Cleaner: 1c white vinegar + 4 T baking soda + water to fill a 24 oz spray bottle
Dusting Spray:  1/4 c white vinegar + 1 tsp. olive oil + water to fill a 24 oz spray bottle
Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

2 thoughts on “How To Make Your Own Cleaning Products

  1. hahahaha, I don’t remember “camp” with quite the same fondness. however, constant upkeep prevents build up and an easier job. Cheap is a bonus! remember dad showed us that cleaning mirrors and glass with newspaper instead of paper towels. It wiped away cleaner and left no streaks. Any upcoming face washes?

  2. Pingback: From St. Louis to Michigan – Aunt Karen’s 560 Mile Bike Ride | Forcing the Bloom

Your thoughts?

