Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Save Money Making Homemade Hummus!

5 Comments

I knew I could save money making humus but I didn’t realize HOW much money.  I guess it’s that way with most homemade things.  Or so, I’m discovering.  Ignorance is bliss.  Now that I know, it’s hard to go back to shopping as usual.  And finding ways to save through homemade goodies is addictive!

My local grocery store sells a 7 oz container of hummus for about $6.00.  Sometimes you can get it cheaper depending on the brand and flavor.  I made about 4 times that amount (and that’s being conservative) for about $5.09 or about $1.27 for that same amount (7 oz).  Even if you rounded up to $6.00 to make 28 oz of homemade hummus, you still only spent $1.50 (compared to $6.00)!  My figure is based on 1/2 cup of tahini ($7.00 for 16 oz) and 2 cans of garbanzo beans ($1.67 each).  There is a little cost for some lemon juice, olive oil or whatever seasoning you add.

That’s big savings!  Assume you buy hummus once a month.  You could save as much as $56.73 per year making homemade hummus.  And if you make your own, you know exactly what’s in it.  You can determine the amount of salt, oil or seasoning.  You can also have fun with flavors.  Add a little pesto or garlic or black beans.  Hummus is good on everything.  Try is on sandwiches, crackers, toast, or veggies.  I made so much hummus with 2 cans of beans that I froze half of it for later!  I also got several “yum” reviews from the family.

Simple recipe: 2 cans garbanzo beans, 1/2 cup tahini, 2 T lemon juice, olive oil to suit your taste; Blend in a food processor until creamy; Enjoy!

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

5 thoughts on “Save Money Making Homemade Hummus!

  1. I’m doing this! Thanks for the inspiration… :0)

  2. I did it! Threw in a red pepper too. Really good! Thanks!

  3. Pingback: Woman Weekend Warrior « Forcing the Bloom

  4. Pingback: Getting Your Greens | Forcing the Bloom

Your thoughts?

