Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Kerri Walsh – Working Momma?!

2 Comments

Like many folks, I’ve been watching the Olympics when I can find the time.  I was watching an interview of the U.S. women’s beach volleyball team, Kerri Walsh and Misty May-Treanor.  They are pretty spunky.  They won a preliminary round 2-1 against Austria today.  They are going for their 3rd gold metal (prior gold metals from 2004 and 2008) this week.  What struck me during Kerri’s interview was when she referred to herself as a working mom.    She has two young boys, Joseph and Sundance.  I hadn’t really thought of her as a working mom, at least in the same way that I think of myself as a working mom.  I hadn’t thought that we had anything in common.  She’s a 6’3″ professional volleyball player competing in the Olympics.  I’m 5’6″ and watch the Olympics from my couch.  She’s a Standford grad.  I went to a small college in the mid-west.  She wears a bikini to work.  I wear business casual.  Not to mention that I have no right wearing a bikini.  But she’s also a working mom!  Her interview definitely expanded my definition of working momma and made me rethink the way I view Olympic athletes.  Go Kerri!

http://www.london2012.com/beach-volleyball/

Olympic moms – http://workingmoms.about.com/

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

2 thoughts on “Kerri Walsh – Working Momma?!

  1. Adrienne, I love reading your blog!

Your thoughts?

