Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

The Sugar Challenge

Leave a comment

Americans eat an average of 22 teaspoons of sugar per day!  That’s twice the recommended amount.  http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/32543288/ns/health-diet_and_nutrition/t/cut-back-way-back-sugar-says-heart-group/#.UChXScjxgU8

Am I addicted to sugar?  Sure, we probably all are.  I decided to test myself to see if I’m truly addicted and how badly I’m addicted.  The best way to test any addiction – go cold turkey.  I have been sugar for three days!  I admit that I’ve had plenty of fruit, but that’s natural sugar.  I figure that’s okay.  I want to see if I can make it a whole week without any sugar.  The no sugar diet actually makes meals and snack time easier.  If I’m hungry I have to find REAL food like apples, carrots, or some protein like chicken and not fake filler food like cookies, ice cream or any type of pastry from Starbucks!  Next, I’m tackling salt!

 

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

Your thoughts?

