Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Homemade Bars – On The Go

6 Comments

Store-bought granola bars seemed like a waste to me.  A waste of money, a waste of packaging, and waste of calories.  They also seem to have an infinite shelf-life, which is always a big red flag for me.  They do, however, seem to save time.  They are great to grab and go.  You can eat them in the car or carry them in your bag.  You can store them in your desk at work or quickly throw them in your kids lunch.  They are filling and seem better than a candy bar – maybe.  SO, I tried to think of a homemade replacement to the store-bought bars.  I made some homemade granola bars with peanut butter, rolled oats, dried apricots, dried cherries, dried pomegranates  and chocolate chips (of course).  I added eggs and some brown sugar and baked the mixture in a pan at 375 for about 30 minutes.  You can vary the recipe however you want.  Then, I cut the baked mixture into bars and wrapped the bars in plastic wrap!  I put all the wrapped bars in a refrigerator drawer for easy access.  Quick, easy, healthy, and cheap!  AND homemade!

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

6 thoughts on “Homemade Bars – On The Go

  1. The bars are really good. And because they are called ‘breakfast bars’, I can eat them for breakfast. 🙂

    Ben Gilman ben.c.gilman@gmail.com

  2. I agree on the scary factor of the infinite fresh idea… really, scary:) I always say if it goes bad within a day its okay:) that bread from the grocery …? what is going on with it it lasts for weeks without going bad, and people are eating this? scary..

    • Homemade bread in next on my list of challenges!

      • Homemade bread is one of my favorites:) As soon as get my new camera I have a few bread recipes to post:) Bread is really easy once you get the hang of it:) Personally, I hand knead all my bread for about 15 minutes..I think it works best when you make it truly by hand.. make sure you buy good yeast ( I like the yeast from Red Star) If you have any questions please ask… ( there is nothing better than a loaf of homemade bread… and I would love to help you accomplish that:)

      • Yes, please! I would love some recipes! When I made homemade bread in the past it turne out like a brick!

      • Never fear, Forcing the Bloom:) Soon you will be a bread making gal!!!! You might even change your name to Forcing the Bread:)

Your thoughts?

