Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Meataholic’s Anonymous

5 Comments

Along with all the things that changed when I became pregnant and had a baby, I also began eating meat.  Prior to pregnancy, I had been a vegetarian for about 15 years.  Well, actually I was a pescatarian – someone who does not eat any meat except seafood.  It’s now 8 months post-pregnancy and I’m still eating meat, especially steak!  Is it because I’m still breastfeeding?  Is it something I’m missing, like iron, or am I just addicted?  I don’t think eating meat is necessary if you have enough protein from other sources likes legumes.  It’s probably better to have a diet of whole grains, legumes, seeds, fruits and vegetables without meat.  It seems harder, however, to make meals that contain all those types of food.  It seems easier to plan a meal around a meat.  Usually when we say we don’t have food in the house, that means we don’t have meat.  Also, I try to buy meat on sale and that usually does not include fish, which is probably the healthiest meat.  Tilapia is sometime on sale but that’s about it.  So, do I try to go back to my pescatarian ways or stay a meataholic?

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

5 thoughts on “Meataholic’s Anonymous

  1. I was wondering with the bison burgers! I am always starving when breastfeeding, and the iron need is probably still pretty high. The only non-meat iron foods I can stand are broccoli, raisins, and fortified cereal (or a multi-vitamin). I think the percentages of iron in those foods compared to a juicy steak is not all that great though.

  2. Funny! When I was pregnant I craved meat in the first trimester and once that passed I was vegetarian again (though I do eat dairy). Once Samuel was born, though, and a few days of breastfeeding had been established, I was in serious need of meat again! I do not eat pork, seafood or red meat, only poultry, but I plan to drop that once he’s weaned. He’s 18 months now and still a very enthusiastic little nurser, so we’ll see!
    What have you done, or are you still breastfeeding? 🙂 Back to veg yet?

    • Oh, 18 months – that’s great to hear!! Baby B is 12 months and I want to keep breastfeeding for awhile. I’m concerned about the transition into other drinks and need to read up on milks – soy, cow, almond, etc. So far we have just done water. Recommend any articles on milks? I’ve started cutting back on red meat too. It’s been a natural transition back to more veggie life…until the next baby! 🙂

      • That’s wonderful that you’re still breastfeeding!
        We’ve only given Samuel water and breastmilk (well, he occasionally gets a taste of oj, but that’s just a a treat). When we do start giving him milk, we’re going to give almond milk because it has just as much calcium and Vit D, plus lots of other benefits. Hoping he isn’t sensitive to it or anyting. Our pediatrician recommends it for toddlers AND breastfeeding mothers! =)

  3. Oops, meant to say as much calcium and vit D as cow’s milk. Oh, and I have an allergy to soy milk, so I wouldn’t be likely to offer that, and I really don’t want to do cow’s milk.

Your thoughts?

