Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Resolutions?

Leave a comment

Due to my perfectionist nature, New Year’s Day is one of my favorite holidays.  I haven’t screwed anything up yet in 2013!  I know – I’m crazy.  Actually, I used to find New Year’s Day very depressing.  I think most people find the post-holiday season to be a drag.  It’s dark and cold outside.  You’ve probably gained 10 pounds from the holidays.  Your skin is dry and itchy.  You’d rather be on a beach but instead you’re going back to work.  Your favorite football team probably isn’t going to the Superbowl.  And, to top it off, you still have to take down the Christmas tree and all those holiday decorations.  The sight of Christmas decorations after Christmas drives me crazy!

So why do I love New Year’s?  Resolutions!  What woman doesn’t like a reason to make a list?!  I also like thinking up tricks to make them stick.  One of my resolutions is to get back in shape and loose those pesky mommy pounds.  My goal is to compete in a sprint triathlon in the spring.  The trick to make the resolution stick is signing up for the race.  Having the race on the calendar motivates me to work out.  Another one of my resolutions is to read more books.  So I set a goal of reading 20 books on Goodreads (www.goodreads.com).  I still have a few resolutions that I’m not sure how to implement, but I’m working on it.  I want to get up early and have one hour of quiet time before Baby wakes up.  I want to be more passionate about work and I want to make healthy meals for my family everyday.  I may as well throw in world peace while I’m at it.  Good grief!  But that’s the point, isn’t it?  Anything is possible when you wipe the slate clean and start fresh in a new year.  What are your resolutions?

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

Your thoughts?

