Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

My First Week At Home

Leave a comment

I quit my job!  Last week was my last week at a big law firm.  This is the first week of my new life, which I am inventing as I go.  My goal is to start my own practice and be up and running by the end of the year.  I kept daycare but have more time and flexibility.  I’ve already filed for a PLLC, which is very exciting.  I had to contact the State Bar then the Secretary of State and then the State Bar again.  Good grief.  I also need to tackle insurance and a trust account.  I’m having fun learning new skills.  Seriously!

The main reason for leaving my job is to spend more time with my family.  At least, I think they need me.  It will also be nice to have time to exercise.  This is my second day home and it’s been good so far!  I feel a little out of sorts, like I’m paving a new path, but it’s also exciting.  I made a few house rules to promote success.

Rule 1# Dress for success.  That means business causal or better a majority of the time.  Yes, even at home when no one will see you.  I’m hoping this will promote a working environment and professional image.  Rule #2 Set a Schedule.  This means a full calendar.  So I set up lunch dates twice a week for the next two months.  And don’t let the day dictate what you do.  Decide the goal for the day, week, month and year.  Even have a 2-year plan.  Then make sure to modify the schedule as you go.  We’ll see how I do by the end of the month!  I have also dedicate my first two weeks at home to self-reflection and organization.  I have set aside several hours each day for quiet reflection, goal-setting and prayer.  I’m also organizing the house, which is awesome to do at the beginning of the year no matter what!  I think better with a clean, organized house.  Like I said, it’s only day 2!  🙂  Wish me luck!

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

Your thoughts?

