Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

First Week of Triathlon Training

2 Comments

If you’re like me you need a race and a training schedule as motivation to workout.  Maybe you’re one of those people who can work out just for the fun of it.  I’m motivated by competition.  My goal this year is to compete in a couple of sprint triathlons.  That’s a race were you swim, bike and then run.  The distance for a “sprint” race is usually 0.5 mile swim, 12 mile bike, and 3 mile run.  Some of the races I competed in pre-baby were the Lake Norman Triathlon and White Lake 1/2 Ironman.  The 1/2 Ironman race seems like a lifetime ago – when I had things like time and muscles.  This year (post-baby) the first race I’d like to enter is at the end of April.  Right around the corner.  Now that I have some more flexibility with my time (since I quit my job a week ago to start my own practice), I have no excuse for not following a training schedule.  My favorite place for free training schedules and general information about tri racing is BeginnerTriathlete.com.  The training schedule I plan to follow is found at www.beginnertriathlete.com/sprint.  Here is my first week:

Monday: Swim 15 min / Run 20

Tuesday: Off

Wednesday: Bike 35

Thursday: Run 20

Friday: Swim 30

Saturday: Off

Sunday: Bike 40

It seems doable.  We’ll see.  I ran today so I’m already going to switch Monday and Thursday.  Also this schedule provides 5 months of workouts and I only have 3 months until my first race!  So, I’ll need to ramp things up much faster.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to skip some weeks as I get going.  The goal at this point is just to get started and stay consistent.  And for that, the biggest motivation is not bombing at a race!  And also the thought of wearing a tri suit at the race but that’s a scary thought right now so I’m quickly wiping that image from my mind.  There…it’s gone – until my next swim workout!  Eek.

Swim

Bike

Run

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

2 thoughts on “First Week of Triathlon Training

  1. Congrats on starting your own practice!
    Good luck on the training. Keep us posted on your progress – it will help motivate me! However, just looking in the mirror these days is quite motivational. 🙂

Your thoughts?

