Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Homemade Nutbutter and Applesauce!

3 Comments

In line with my goal to make more homemade goodies this year, I whipped up some nutbutter and apple/peach sauce last week.  I’m starting slow, okay!  I grabbed bags of nuts that I had left over for the nutbutter.  I used hazelnuts and almonds.  Since both these nuts are slightly dry, I added just a drizzle of olive oil for a creamy consistency.  I threw the nuts in my Vitamix and spun that sucker until the batch looked spreadable.  It turned out a dark, rich color with flecks of deep brown.  The apple and peach sauce was easy too and a few apples go a long way!  I cored and steamed about 6 apples and then threw them in the Vitamix after they cooled a bit.  Save that water from steaming for smoothies!  Then I added a freezer bag full of sliced peaches leftover from summer.  I kept spinning until the peels were ground up so Baby could swallow it easily.  The batch made two large jars full!  I keep adding the sauce mix to other things – hot cereal, yogurt, puree veggies.  I need to try an applesauce muffin recipe next.  Can’t wait to try some other homemade goodies this week!

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Nutbutter and Applesauce!

  1. Ooh, that sounds really yummy!! I love good, nutty spreads. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Morning Bars! « Forcing the Bloom

  3. Pingback: Getting Your Greens | Forcing the Bloom

Your thoughts?

