Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

World Moms Blog Sidebar: Balancing Family Life and Career Life

Leave a comment

Saturday Sidebar: Balancing Family Life and Career Life

If you’re new here, you may want to subscribe to the World Moms Blog RSS feed. Thanks for traveling with us around the globe!

This week’s Saturday Sidebar Question comes from World Moms Blog Fan.  She asked our writers,

“What are your best tips for balancing family life and career life? How do you make it work where you live?”

Check out what some of our World Moms had to say…

A working woman

A working womanMomma Expat of France writes:

“ When I was in the US, working full-time outside of the  home, my husband always pitched in to help around the house and three days a week made dinner. This allowed me to fulfill my work requirements  and feel supported. Now that I’m working from home part-time, my husband is STILL continuing to support me by freeing me up to run in the morning while he takes my son to school. Since my sister-in-law is also here with me, she said, “Also making sure mom gets a full night of sleep! So important to face the next day! And lastly choosing to let certain things go and focusing on what’s more important. Lastly, parents should make time for one another. Both of us would pick one day a month and leave our kids in school or daycare to go out for lunch. Spending time for one another is really important!”

Eva Fannon of Washington State, USA writes:
“As a working mom, sometimes I feel like every day is a juggling act. So I try to plan ahead whenever possible (coordination with my husband about business trips is key!), but also take things one day at a time, more than that gets too overwhelming for me!”

AnaGaby@StumbleAbroad of Indonesia writes:
“As a stay-at-home mom currently in the process or reentering the work force I have to say that we have to add a third and maybe fourth factor to the equation. I believe that separating some time for ourselves is key to an integral lifestyle. Whether you need a good run, a good book or a good cup of coffee with girlfriends, you need to find a balance that keeps you engaged and happy. The fourth element is reigniting your relationship with your partner. Family life is fun but remember that your family started as two and changing diapers and taking turns helping with homework or baths isn’t the perfect date night.”

….

 

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

Your thoughts?

