Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Talking about God to Kids

3 Comments

Dare I be controversial?  Yes, I dare.  Mention the word God and you may get many different reactions.  For some, talking about God is very different from talking about church.  It can be a touchy subject but I don’t think it has to be.  Even if you don’t believe in God, you will probably still need to talk to your kids about God.  I taught a Sunday School (kids) class the last two weekends at our church.  It reminded me that talking about God to kids is a unique and wonderful challenge.  It can also be frightening.  It won’t be long before my almost-one-year old can talk about God.  My time is short!  I feel like I better get this figured out.  Probably a good goal anyway, right?  Do you remember what your parents said to you?  I’m concerned about being too pushy or too apathetic.  How do you make it a part of everyday conversation so that it isn’t uncomfortable (even if I feel uncomfortable)?  I guess it’s like talking about morality, virtue or character.  Well dang, that’s not easy either.  I read that each child is brought to us to challenge us in exactly the way we need to be challenged in order to best promote growth.  Thanks Baby B, I appreciate this learning opportunity!

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

3 thoughts on “Talking about God to Kids

  1. So true 🙂

  2. Some things are true whether you believe in them or not. 😉 But, yeah I’m sure parents still have to explain things to children even if they don’t believe. That would be hard! It’s not hard for me because I want to share my beliefs with our kids. The biggest thing that’s helped in the teaching of my faith to our kids is that it’s okay that I DON’T have all the answers! I frequently admit that I don’t know (for things like how heaven will be, etc) , or when they ask a question, we are known to say, “Idk, let’s see if we can find out”. And then we look in the Bible and/or books written to teach kids about God and His ways, like this: http://atlantamomofthree.wordpress.com/2012/11/29/explaining-heaven/ What’s so wonderful is that we are learning with them as we teach them! ❤

Your thoughts?

