Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

North Carolina Transportation Museum

Leave a comment

We REALLY enjoyed our trip to the North Carolina Transportation Museum!  The term “museum” is probably a little misleading, at least in my mind, since everything was outside.  It was a old train yard that stores and exhibits old trains and other vehicles.  The museum is located in Spencer, NC, which is about one hour north of Charlotte on highway 77.  Admissions are $6 for adults and $4 for kids ages 3-12.  Kids under 3 enter for free.  Our little guy is 15 months old and he seemed to have fun.  Who knows what actually goes through a toddler’s mind?  We saw lots of different kinds of trains and were able to climb up on some of them.  We saw old cars too.  We also went on a short 30 minute train ride.  I would have liked a longer train ride but it was probably perfect for my little guy.  He would have been antsy with a longer trip, although mommy was ready for a break!  I’m glad we brought the stroller because we walked most of the day!  I’m also glad I brought a snack but next time I’ll bring a picnic lunch.  There was no food on the grounds but there were picnic benches.  I also think our little guy would have liked more things to climb on than just trains.  He climbed up some steps to get on the trains but I think a little slide area or playground of sorts would have been nice.  After our trip, “train” is much easier to find and identify in all our kid/picture books.  I think that these types of trips help make the pictures come alive and provide great learning opportunities.  He’s only 15 months and I’m already obsessed with his education!  I took lots of pictures and I’m going to make a book for him of his trip to the museum.  I discovered that these books are really easy to make on my Mac through Iphoto but I think you can also make them on Snapfish or other photo sites.  Hoping to hit all the museums in our area this summer, especially now that it’s so hot!

IMG_0704 IMG_0710 IMG_0711 IMG_0712 IMG_0713 IMG_0719 IMG_0722 IMG_0727 IMG_0735 IMG_0740 IMG_0742

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

Your thoughts?

