Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Toddler Recipes: Quinoa Cakes and Chocolate Date Bites

Leave a comment

Tonight I made Quinoa Cakes and some sort of Chocolate Date Bite thing.  Both these little recipes were simple modifications of prior recipe ideas.  Once you get the hang of it you can experiment with other nutritional enhancers.  The Quinoa Cakes were a dinner gone wrong and an understanding that toddlers like finger foods.  I made up a dish of quinoa (1/2 cup dry quinoa with 1 cup veggie broth and a dash of curry).  I added about a cup and 1/2 of mixed frozen veggies (pea, green beans, carrots and lima beans) and a cup of chickpeas.  Baby B served it to the dogs, which was sweet and a nice gesture since he has been ramming them with his cart all week.  With the leftovers, I decided to try making baked cakes.  I added about 2 T of olive oil and another cup of chickpeas and mashed it all up with a fork until it was nice and mushy and easy to patty.  I spooned out the patties about the size of half dollars and baked them for about 20 minutes at 350 degrees.  After I pulled them out of the oven I had to let them sit for awhile so they would not fall apart.  Result: little toddler finger food.  Whatdoyathink?  🙂

Quinoa Cakes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also continued to experiment with my date bar recipe.  This time I did not have very much rolled oats and I used chocolate chips instead of dried fruit.  In place of rolled oats I used extra wheat germ.  Like, alot of wheat germ!  It’s good for you, right?!  So I mashed together: about 4 or 5 T of baking dates (pitted and mashed), 1/4 cup rolled oats, 1 cup wheat germ, 1/4 cup chocolate chips, 1/4 cup pumpkin puree, 1 T cinnamon, 1 t pumpkin spice, 1 t nutmeg.  It took awhile to mashed it together evenly.  I spooned out and formed little cookies and dehydrated them for about 5 hours.  You can also bake them at a low temperature until they harden.  The chocolate chips melted and mixed with the dates to create a dark, rich color.  Yum.  🙂

Chocolate Date Bites

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

Your thoughts?

