Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Resolve Resolutions

Leave a comment

Happy New Year!  I LOVE New Year’s!  Well, I love crafting New Year’s resolutions.  I don’t know why I get such a kick out of resolutions!  Resolutions to me are fascinating and powerful.  It’s amazing what can be accomplished if you work at it everyday.  Consistency is the key and also the biggest challenge.  I love slow and steady change so making yearly resolutions is right up my alley.  For the other half of the population, resolutions may not be your thing.  It’s not how you are motivated.  Before you give up too quickly or decide not even to try thinking of a resolution, check out one of my favorite author’s suggestions about keeping resolutions.  Gretchen Rubin wrote The Happiness Project and Happier at Home.  She is basically the closest thing to an expert on keeping resolutions!  Her conclusion – you can be happier through small changes in your life!  Check out two of her vlogs about New Year’s resolutions for inspiration on creating and keeping your resolutions this year: 1.) Hold Yourself Accountable and 2.) Preparation is Essential.

A few of my resolutions for 2014 are 1.) not to lose patience or raise my voice at my dogs (ever since B was born they drive me nuts), 2.) read three books a month (1 for book club, 1 for church, and 1 for work), 3.) dress for success (my nemesis – I’m completely void of style), 4.) post gratitude stickies in the bathroom and around the house, 5.) read a Bible verse to B everyday, and 6.) kiss and hug my spouse everyday (it’s surprising how many days I miss).  My plan for keeping my resolutions this year is to write them down and keeping on my computer, check them daily, and put reminders on my calendar to check my progress.  I live by my calendar so reminders will be helpful.  What are your resolutions for 2014?  How do you plan to keep them?

The best of 2013!

IMG_0242 IMG_0253 IMG_0088 IMG_0200 IMG_0246 IMG_0072 IMG_0167 IMG_0210 IMG_0422 IMG_0571 IMG_0589 972158_10201306145000746_927521501_n IMG_0728 IMG_0817 IMG_0827 IMG_0865 IMG_1202 IMG_1250 Image IMG_1312 Image 12 IMG_1435 IMG_1722 IMG_1765 IMG_1782 IMG_1796 Image

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

Your thoughts?

