Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Butternut Squash Pasta with Pine Nuts and Kale

1 Comment

We love butternut squash pasta!  Last night I combined the pasta with kale, squash, beets, and pine nuts!  The only seasoning was a salt and sage.  DO NOT dump in the entire sage bottle as my little toddler did when he was “helping.”  Sage is actually spicy in large quantities.  Otherwise, very yummy and healthy.  I first boiled the beet in a pot of water for about an hour (I had a large beet).  You can do that the day before.  After the beet is soft, leave it in the refrigerator to cool.  Then the skin will come right off.  I used an orange-colored beet.  After cooking the pasta and setting aside to drain, I used the same large pot and added some olive oil, sage and pine nuts.  (This is the point at which you DO NOT add the entire bottle of sage – only a pinch.)  Ounce the pine nuts were lightly toasted, I added sliced squash and cut up kale leaves.  After the kale and squash were hot, I added the diced beet.  Then I threw the pasta back in and mixed it together.  Very easy and healthy.  Cheers!

IMG_1986 IMG_1987

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

One thought on “Butternut Squash Pasta with Pine Nuts and Kale

  1. Clarification – the pasta I used was ravioli filled with butternut squash. Yum!

Your thoughts?

