Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Dinner: Pierogis with kale and mushrooms

1 Comment

Last time I posted about healthy breakfast meals.  Here is a healthy (relatively) dinner for the family.  I say “relatively” healthy because everyone have different standards.  I like pierogis because my grandmother used to make them.  They are basically potato-filled pasta that you can buy frozen.  My toddler LOVES them!  Very easy to make too.  I first boiled the pierogis in water and then added them to a frying pan with sautéed onion, garlic, and mushrooms.  I then added kale and heated it until the kale become soft.  On the side, we had steamed broccoli (nothing added).

Now here is the trick, at least this works with my toddler, I serve the veggies (in the case broccoli and kale) first.  But I don’t push for him to eat the veggies, I just give him some time and then add the other food.  I sit down with him and eat my plate of food just like I want him to eat.  Then (and this seems to never fail) I read some books that he loves.  I will read a few pages and then eat some food.  Sometimes I prop the book up or just let him know we are taking a break to eat.  You can sneak some new foods on the plate while they are engrossed in a story.  I don’t force food but I will introduce it many times in many different ways.  Less stress!

What meal/dinner habits work for your toddler?  Do you read during meals or something else?

IMG_2034

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

One thought on “Dinner: Pierogis with kale and mushrooms

  1. I struggle with getting my little girl to eat a varied diet so I will have to try your methods.

Your thoughts?

