Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Little Helper in the Kitchen

2 Comments

I have a little helper in the kitchen.  If I’m in the kitchen, he’s in the kitchen.  Sometimes it makes me feel like my head is going to explode but then I take a deep breath and let the messes unfold.  B’s (27 months) favorite kitchen activity is washing dishes and emptying the dishwasher.  This week he took to peeling carrots!  I almost stopped him but then he started doing a good job so I let him go.  I kept a watchful eye on him but he was very careful.  You can see the serious look of concentration.  We also made pizza dough and homemade pizza.  He enjoyed working with the pizza dough and sprinkling pieces of veggies and cheese on top.  He also dumped an entire jar of parsley on the pizza but otherwise it turned out great.  Some other tasks in the kitchen he has liked in the past include sifting flour, cutting bananas, and making toast or bagels in the toaster.  I’m glad my little Montessori-toddler insists on working in kitchen!  Helps keep me honest.  😉

IMG_3185 IMG_3186

IMG_3198 IMG_3199

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

2 thoughts on “Little Helper in the Kitchen

  1. This is so cute! I love seeing other toddlers in the kitchen. Making pizza is such an awesome activity for little folks 🙂

Your thoughts?

