Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Book Review: Battle Hymn of a Tiger Mom

Leave a comment

Have you read “Battle Hymn of a Tiger Mom” by Amy Chua?  It came out in 2011 but I’m just now getting around to reading it.  I found it difficult to read books when B was little.  Now that we have a good evening routine and sleep schedule, I’m able to read books again!  I don’t know why I picked this book to read now but I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN!  I even put down “Insurgent” by Veronica Roth to plow through this book.  I think it appealed to me because B is almost at the age when I could sign him up for activities and lessons, like soccer or music.  Not that I will.  But before I know it I’ll have all those options.  It’s a whole new world.

Amy Chua’s girls both started playing piano at age three and quickly entered a world of intense practice and competition.  Their mother, Amy, was deeply involved in their practice despite her full time teaching position at Yale Law School.  Amy Chua’s work and dedication to her girls’ music made me feel slightly inadequate and a bit exhausted.  Could I be doing more?  Are my expectations for B too low?

I know this book caused controversy.  I remember reading an excerpt from the book in the Wall Street Journal and then hearing Chua’s interviews on NPR.  Critics made it sound like Chua was touting her Chinese-style, parenting methods as superior to Western parenting.  I did NOT get that from the book at all.  I thought she poked fun at both cultures.  The cover of the book says that the book was suppose to be about how her Chinese methods were better.  Not that she was actually able prove it.  Her methods were put to the test during her battles with her youngest daughter, Lulu.  If you want to know who won those battles, you’ll have to read the book.

Tiger Mom

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

Your thoughts?

