Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Just ONE Box

3 Comments

If you could keep just ONE box of toys or activities for your child, what would you keep?  I’m not talking about the essentials, like clothes, food, diapers, etc.  I’m talking about the extra things that keep our kids busy, usually called “toys” but not necessarily.  Some people need to make serious decisions about what to grab from their house, such as in the case of a fire, flood, or tornado.  But at that point, you aren’t thinking about toys as much as family momentos or essentials.  Luckily, I did not experience such a dire situation.  I did, however, find myself in a situation where I could only bring one box of toys for my toddler with us on a trip.  And they had to last us for about 3 months (and a few long car trips).  My husband is working on a 13 week project in NY city and I decided we (B and me) should go too.  That meant leaving our big house for a tiny apartment in the city.  What could I bring to keep my toddler busy for 3 months when I only had room in the car for only ONE medium size box of toys?  I had time to plan but in the end time didn’t matter.  I ended up waiting until everything else was packed and we were actually getting into the car to leave before I packed the toddler “toy” box.  I picked a few things (the educational activities) and let B choose the rest.  We are one and a half weeks into our trip and so far so good.

Here is a link to my YouTube video where you can see what we decided to bring.  It’s not much!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_dsl37qlbmQ

What would you bring for your kids if you could only take ONE box?  What are your children’s favorite toys or activities?  Have you ever had a similar experience?

IMG_3413 IMG_3365

 

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

3 thoughts on “Just ONE Box

  1. That’s tough. I would pack our IPad for sure. I know not everyone is for electronics with their kids, but ABC mouse and the downloadable nursery rhymes have saved me on several occasions. I would pack some of her favorite mini books, crayons, paper and coloring books are a must, her small music player/ microphone because she loves to dance and sing, measuring scoops and bath toys because she loves water play, if there is a sink nearby or even a bowl we are golden.

  2. Wow, one box! This is actually great to think about. in a few weeks we’ll be traveling to visit family. While we’re not traveling for 3 months, our space will still be limited. Books are a big one for us, X loves books. Our nesting boxes, Melissa and Doug farm lacing beads, mega Bloks and shape sorter… Those are used daily for us. I always pack too much, maybe this next trip I’ll pack a little lighter.

  3. Legos and art supplies would be crammed into that box. Books are an essential right?

Your thoughts?

