Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Homebody or World Traveler? With Kids?

1 Comment

 

Are you are traveler or a homebody?  Do you prefer a staycation or a trip to a new country?  Have kids changed our perspective?  

I find myself traveling WAY more with my toddler than I ever did or wanted to before I had a baby.  This is the COMPLETE opposite of what I expected.  I still would not categorize myself as a globetrotter.  I don’t enjoy traveling like I know some people do.  And I really haven’t traveled very much.  But now I kind of want to that change.  I never had that urge before.

It is WAY more fun, at least for me, to explore and sightsee with my child.  My toddler (almost 2 1/2) is still an unconscious learner.  That means he absorbs his environment.  It’s not something you can quiz him on.  It just becomes a part of him.  I have the amazing job of showing him new environments.  That makes traveling for me pretty exciting.  Where before I focused on the hassle and inconvenience associated with travel, now I think of the sights and sounds my toddler feels – the wonder and richness.

I am the first to admit that we haven’t traveled very much and I still consider myself a homebody.  And yet, we HAVE visited Miami, St. Louis, Savanna, Charleston, Myrtle Beach, and St. Thomas (US Virgin Islands).  Now, we’re in New York City.  Where should we go next?  I’m thinking Costa Rica.  Then, Europe?

Do you LOVE to travel?  What are your secrets for a success trip?  How far would you go with your children?

Below is a bit of a collage of our exploration of NY city.  A hodgepodge of what we have been up to recently.  You’ll see that we visited a beautiful church near Central Park, biked across the Brooklyn Bridge, visited the fountain and carousel in Bryant Park (near Times Square and the Mid-Manhattan Library), and learned to cook and make art projects in a tiny apartment.

 


IMG_3610
IMG_3608 IMG_3607 IMG_3605 IMG_3604 IMG_3582 IMG_3585 IMG_3588 IMG_3590 IMG_3591 IMG_3567 IMG_3625 IMG_3620 IMG_3621 IMG_3618 IMG_3619 IMG_3581 IMG_3580 IMG_3574 IMG_3568 IMG_3599 IMG_3602

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_3616

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

One thought on “Homebody or World Traveler? With Kids?

  1. We love to travel and plan to take our daughter on many trips. It is a completely different kind of fun when you travel with a child. The fun is still there, but it is more focused on the munchkin now. We want to take her internationally, but not until she is a bit older and can remember some of it.

Your thoughts?

