Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Book Recommendations

10 Comments

I am looking a few good book recommendations.  I’m always hesitant to pick up a new book…UNLESS someone has recommended it!  What are you reading?  Any recommendations?  A favorite parenting or Montessori book?  A favorite young adult, science fiction?  I enjoy almost all genres.

Are you on Goodreads.com?  I have really enjoyed using this site to track my reading and get recommendations.  There is something very satisfying about checking off that you’ve read another book.  It motivates me to read more.  I have made it a priority to do things that make me happy everyday.  Reading makes me happy.  I used to think it was selfish – taking free time to read.  But now I can acknowledge that I’m a better person and mom when I’m happy.  So that means reading everyday.  And right now I need a new book!  🙂

Here’s what I’ve read recently…

The Book Thief by Lois Lowry

Christian Healer by Yvonne Cache von Fettweis and Robert Townsend Warneck

The Giver by Louis Lowry

The Golden Compass by Phillip Pullman 

Last Child in the Woods by Richard Louv

 

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

10 thoughts on “Book Recommendations

  1. I just finished and really enjoyed The Origin Mystery series by A.G.Riddle. It’s a combination thriller, sci-fi, mythology, history, and lots of other genres.

  2. The legacy by Katherine Webb. Just finished. Awesome book

  3. I will admit I have been awful at book reading lately! I definitely want to look at a few of your suggestions though. 🙂

  4. Two books that I’ve read recently and enjoyed were Watership Down and The Pillars of the Earth

Your thoughts?

