Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Made it to 40 Weeks…Now what?

4 Comments

I’m now 40 weeks and a few days along in my pregnancy.  As a doula and having already had one baby, I know my due date is a “guess date” at best.  Every baby is different, right?  BUT there is something about that magical date that changes everyone’s attitude (including mine).  All of sudden you are “late”.  However, about half of all moms (mainly first time moms) will delivery AFTER their due date.  So you should feel “normal” right?  Maybe not.  You may need to work even harder to have a relaxed and positive attitude.

What are some ways to make this time during pregnancy relaxing and fun?     

– Eliminate using words such as “waiting”, “wondering”, or “worrying”

– Repeat positive affirmation – post stickie notes around the house that say things like “Baby is safe and will come at the right time!” or “I love being pregnant!”

– How many date nights can you fit in before baby arrives?  Make it game!

– Get a massage – try a special pregnancy massage

– Walk and stretch – it may be the last thought on your mind but keep moving

OTHER RECOMMENDATIONS?  What did you do or do you recommend to moms in those last few days of pregnancy?    

IMG_4311

 

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

4 thoughts on “Made it to 40 Weeks…Now what?

  1. When I was in late pregnancy, I used to daydream about all the nice things I want to do after the baby arrives. Positive thinking and light exercises surely helps. I want to wish you lots of patience and hopefully a smooth labor! 🙂

  2. Congrats! I had our second baby 6 weeks ago and was 4 days “late” even though I know it’s totally a guess. Our first baby came at 38 weeks, so I was sure I’d go into labor “any minute” for weeks on end! Truly torture! Of course, now I miss being pregnant 🙂 I wish I had relished in those last few weeks more instead of wishing/wanting the baby out already. Pregnancy lasts forever and yet is over in a blink of an eye.

  3. I remember when I was pregnant with my second– I was checking in at the gym on a Tuesday to do my routine waddle on the treadmill and one of the ladies at the counter asked, “Are you still here?? When are you due?” And I said, “Last Thursday.” My water broke a few hours later, like a dam just broke. POP! All over the kitchen floor. I am still thankful that it didn’t happen on that YMCA treadmill. 🙂

    Thinking about you! Hope it’s smooth sailing from here!

Your thoughts?

