Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Resolution TRICKS for 2015

Leave a comment

I have to admit that I love New Year’s.  I prefer it over Christmas.  I never thought much of it until I realized that my husband doesn’t like New Year’s or at least he doesn’t think much about it.  I agree that it seems counterintuitive to take the first day of the year off.  Shouldn’t we be trying to get ahead on the first day?

I don’t like New Year’s for the parties.  In fact, I don’t drink or attend parties.  What I like about New Year’s is the opportunity to start new projects and LISTS.  Still, there are always those resolutions that get dropped before Valentine’s Day.

THIS year I have a few NEW TRICKS to keep (hopefully) my resolutions going for the full 365 days of 2015.

1.) I use a DAILIES sheet.  I was inspired by Gretchen Rubin‘s books “The Happiness Project” and “Happier at Home” to create a daily check off list for the things I want to work on everyday.  For example, read to my toddler for 30 minutes, walk 10,000 steps, sleep at least 7 hours, etc.

2.) I wrote a list of AFFIRMATIONS based on my goals.  Writing down affirmations was recommended by several people and I have been pleasantly surprised by the effectiveness.  For example, by writing down “I am happily married” or “My child is creative and fun” (things I know to be true) I am reminded that they ARE true and I appreciate them more.

3.) I have MODELS OF INSPIRATION.  I have a couple of authors (it could be anyone) that I resort to when I need inspiration to continue my resolutions.  When I’m feeling tired and unmotivated, I re-read portions of their books or glance around their websites for new activity.  I especially love Gretchen Rubin’s Youtube videos.  We may not have everything or even very much in common but just enough that I feel inspired by their hard-work and determination.

Happy New Year!

What will keep you motivated this year?  What are your 2015 RESOLUTIONS?

IMG_4552

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

Your thoughts?

