Forcing the Bloom

Happy, Healthy Mommy Blog

Cheap, Healthy, Homemade Pet Treats

Leave a comment

My weekend challenge is to find and make cheap, healthy dog treats.  I have no doubt making my own treats will save money.  There is probably a substantially mark up on anything related to pets.  We have a  soft spot for pets.  They are surrogate children.  We feel inclined to spoil them unreservedly.

Despite our extreme love of animals, we have no idea what we feed them.  We never make pet food.  We wouldn’t consider it.  Alpo and MeowMix must know what they’re doing.  Right.  Maybe Fancy Feast, Friskies, Mighty Dog, Dog Chow, Beneful, Kit’n’Kaboodle, Tender Vittles, Purina, Gravy Train, Kibbles ’n Bits, 9Lives, Skippy or Nature’s Recipe know better.  Probably not.  How about pet treats?  Should we rely on products called Milk Bone, Pup-Peroni, Snausages or Pounce?  I have!  From what I’ve read, the U.S. pet food market is about $15 to $16 billion a year.  There’s got to be some room for heathy savings.

SO…I’m going to see what it takes to make a few dog and cat treats.  Any suggestions?  My first project will be easy.  Baked sweet potato slices in place of raw hide.  Cut sweet potatoes long way into flat strips and bake for 3 hours at 250.  Any other ideas?

Author: Adrienne

Attorney and Professional labor and postpartum doula.

Your thoughts?